Advertising Standards Complaints Board

In March 1988 ASA established a separate self-regulatory body called the Advertising Standards Complaints Board (formerly known as the Advertising Standards Council) to administer the Codes of Practice in New Zealand. Its three main functions are:

  1. To adjudicate on complaints received about advertisements which may be in breach of the Codes of Practice.

  2. To advise the ASA on interpretation of the Codes and possible improvements to the Codes.

  3. To report to the ASA on any aspect of advertising which is causing concern.

The Complaints Board comprises five public representatives with no connection to media or advertising groups, one of whom is the chairperson with a right to exercise a casting vote, plus four persons nominated by the ASA, representative of media, advertising agencies, and advertisers.

The current members of the Complaints Board are:

Public Representatives

  • Jenny Robson (Chairman):  – A qualified lawyer and Tenancy Tribunal Adjudicator. Former Review Officer conducting hearings for the Inland Revenue Department on Child Support issues and former Public Member of the Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal.

  • Phil Broughton (Deputy Chairman):  – A Chartered Accountant with 31 years’ experience and Consultant at Polson Higgs in Dunedin. Experience and expertise in business and training across a number of sectors and is of Ngai Tahu and Kahungunu descent.

  • Prue Kelly:  – Education Consultant. Former Principal, Wellington High School.

  • Dr Deborah Read:  – Registered medical practitioner with specialist qualifications in public health medicine. Public Health Consultant and Associate Professor at the Centre for Public Health Research, Massey University. Former Deputy Chair, Medical Council of New Zealand.

  • Jerome Chapman:  – Barrister and Solicitor with BSc in Psychology. He has ten years' experience handling complaints as a conciliator and team manager. Jerome is a first generation New Zealand (Samoan with Chinese and Tokelauan blood) and has strong community links. Jerome is currently employed at the Office of the Electricity and Gas Complaints Commissioner.

  • Raewyn Anderson (Alternate):  – Lawyer, adjudicator and mediator. Formerly a family and civil lawyer, and complaints investigator. Currently an adjudicator and mediator of ACC disputes and a mediator of family disputes. A marriage and civil union celebrant.

The four industry members come from diverse backgrounds in the advertising industry. They are:

  • Kim Morgan – Broadcast Media (Mediaworks)

  • Grant Maxwell – Advertising Agencies (MECGLOBAL/Y&R)

  • Rachel Prince – Advertisers (NZ Transport Agency)

  • Cheryl Kortink – Non-Broadcast media (Fairfax Media)

  • Jessica Nikora – (Alternate) Advertisers (Phil's and Teds)

  • Wendy Schrijvers – (Alternate) Advertising Agencies (Saatchi and Saatchi)

  • Andrea Fasching – (Alternate) Broadcast Media (TVNZ)

  • Nigel Paxton – (Alternate) Non-Broadcast Media (NZ Post)

The Advertising Standards Complaints Board considers complaints about advertisements in all media.


Advertising Standards Authority New Zealand, PO Box 10-675, Wellington 6143. PH (04) 472 7852 FAX (04) 471 1785 Email asa@asa.co.nz